Preface

The thirteenth of the series of international conferences on Constructive Theory of Functions held in Bulgaria took place in Sozopol during the period June 2–8, 2019. Thirty six participants from thirteen countries attended the meeting.

We dedicate the conference volume to the memory of Blagovest Sendov, the founder of the Bulgarian School in Approximation Theory. Professor Sendov took an active part in CTF-2019, but unfortunately he died several months after its conclusion.

This volume contains thirteen articles written by participants in the conference. They are devoted to modern developments in several classical topics of approximation theory, including Voronovskaja type theorems for positive linear operators related to squared fundamental functions, weighted approximation with the Bernstein-Chlodovsky operators, weighted approximation with a Baskakov-Kantorovich operator, the linking Baskakov type operators, converse estimates for the simultaneous approximation by Bernstein polynomials with integer coefficients, companion Jackson and Bernstein estimates for nonlinear spline approximation in BMO, zeros of the derivative of oscillating polynomials with Laguerre weight, moduli of roots of hyperbolic polynomials, best constants in classical and new polynomial inequalities and their relation to the potential theory, new inequalities for Chebyshev polynomials, explicit solution to a Markov-type extremal problem initiated by Schur, orthogonality and mixed recurrence equations, strictly acute stencils for two dimensional anisotropic fast marching.

We thank all the authors who contributed to this volume. We also apologies to the participants who are not seen on the official CTF-2019 photo. In addition, we would like to thank Mr. Krassimir Kaltchev for his great job on improving photo quality in the CTF Proceedings including but not limited to this volume. The conference web-site www.math.bas.bg/mathmod/CTF-2019/contains a complete collection of the conference activities.

The publication of this volume was partially supported by the Bulgarian National Science Fund under Grant DN 02/14.

The Editors:
Borislav Draganov
Kamen Ivanov
Geno Nikolov
Rumen Uluchev