### PREFACE

The Faculty of Mathematics and Informatics of the Sofia University "St. Kliment Ohridski", the Institute of Mathematics and Informatics of the Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, and the Foundation "Mathematics, Informatics, and Technology" organized the International Conference

#### PIONEERS OF BULGARIAN MATHEMATICS

dedicated to the 120 anniversary of Academician Lubomir Tschakaloff (1886–1963) and the 110 anniversary of Academician Nikola Obrechkoff (1896–1963). The Conference took place in Sofia, July 8–10, 2006, in the frames of the celebration of these two anniversaries, under the aegis of the Bulgarian National Committee of Mathematics.

The Conference covered all fields of interest of the two mathematical giants: mathematical analysis, theory of functions, algebra, number theory, probability, numerical analysis, as well as computer science. The organizers succeeded to gather in Sofia most of the mathematicians and specialists in computer science with Bulgarian origin from all over the world, as well as many foreign mathematicians and computer scientists.

The present issue of Serdica Mathematical Journal contains several research papers and survey articles based on talks presented at the Conference, and following the standard procedure for publishing in the journal. Annuaire de l'Université de Sofia St. Kliment Ohridski, Faculté de Mathèmatiques et Informatique (Godishnik na Sofijskiya Universitet) and Serdica Journal of Computing plan to publish similar issues.

Detailed information for the Conference can be found in its web site http://profot.fmi.uni-sofia.bg.

Sofia, March 2007

The Editors of Serdica Math. J.

## Pioneers of Bulgarian Mathematics

International Conference, Sofia, July 8-10, 2006

#### Dedicated to Lubomir Tschakaloff and Nikola Obrechkoff

### Organizing committee

# Bojidar Sendov Borislav Bojanov Chavdar Lozanov Dimitar Shiyachki Kerope Chakaryan Kiril Bankov Lubomir Lilov

Magdalina Todorova

Roni Levy

Roumen Nikolov Spas Tashev Stefka Dimova Vasil Tsanov

#### Secretary

Maria Kaitazova

## Program committee

Asen Donchev Blagovest Sendov Borislav Bojanov Dimitar Skordev Emil Horozov Hristo Djidjev Ivan Dimovski Kamen Ivanov Kiril Boyanov Lubomir Lilov Luchezar Avramov Nedyu Popivanov Nikolai Yanev Pencho Petrushev Petar Barnev Petar Kenderov Petar Popivanov Petar Russev Raytcho Lazarov Stanimir Troyanski Stefan Dodunekov Stefan Radev Svetozar Rachev Vesselin Petkov Vladimir Tonchev